Dreaming of Spring

Our friends Dave and Elsa Desrochers of Bath, North Carolina stay in Silverthorne, Colorado every winter for two months to ski. They told me about a red fox that would curl-up under a tree nearly every day near their condo. After an early morning hunt this cute critter would take a nap in the mid morning sun. One morning Dave called – the fox is out taking his nap. I dropped everything and drove to the location, found a nearly perfect view point, set up my gear and started photographing the young animal. As I attempted to get closer, it heard me, got up, stretched and wandered off to a quieter haven before I could get my best shot. A week later I received another call from Dave and again I came racing over and again set up my gear, but this time with better light I was able to get a much better photograph.

It really helps when the neighborhood network knows that you love to photograph wildlife.

Dreaming of Spring

Dreaming of Spring

This photo has been published in the Summit Daily News, our local newspaper:

Fox in the Summit Daily News

~ by richardseeley on April 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
