Lunar Eclipse

Lunar Eclipse and Moonset

Lunar Eclipse and Moonset

I thought that I was prepared for the lunar eclipse that was to take place the next morning on Saturday, December 10th. But somehow I managed to wake up late and the lunar eclipse started without me.  I ran to set up my gear and started shooting from my driveway in Eagles Nest in Silverthorne, Colorado. Shortly, the moon started to set behind some trees. I grabbed my gear (Canon 5Dmark2, Canon 500 f/4 lens, Gitzo tripod) jumped into my car and drove to the top of the Hamilton Creek area on other side of the valley to get more altitude. I arrived at the top while the moon was just touching the ridge line of the Gore range. I scrambled to set up my gear and started shooting.

Unfortunately, the lighted crescent sliver was on the bottom edge of the moon and disappearing fast behind Mt. Bloodshaw in the Gore range. I was able to shoot only 4 images. Fortunately one was pretty good.

The image was published in the Summit Daily Newspaper:

Lunar Eclipse in Summit Daily

~ by richardseeley on December 20, 2011.

2 Responses to “Lunar Eclipse”

  1. Nice!!!

    Like

  2. […] Lunar Eclipse in Summit County Daily Newspaper Read the blog post and story behind the image at: Lunar Eclipse Rate this: Spread The GMG Love:FacebookTwitterEmailPrintLinkedInLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
