Regal Eagle

After a frustrating morning trying to locate a reported snowy owl, I departed the area to search the fields directly east of Denver International Airport. Once again I did not find any snowy owls, but I did find a bald eagle. There it was just sitting on a utility pole down a dirt road from the intersection of 96th street and 112th street. I drove down the road towards the eagle thinking that it would fly off any second. Stopped underneath the eagle, did a U-turn to reposition the driver’s side of the car for a direct shot at the bird, rolled down the window and started photographing. It just watched me and I kept photographing. When I opened the door to step out, it flew off. I was within 15 yards of that magnificent bird.

Why can’t the snowy owls behave that way?

In the Pole Position

In the Pole Position

Regal Eagle

Regal Eagle

Off to Find Another Pole

Off to Find Another Pole

Shot with my Canon 1d Mark4 and Canon 70-200 f/2.8 II lens + 1.4x teleconverter at 1/2000sec, f/4, iso 160, handheld.

~ by richardseeley on January 23, 2012.

One Response to “Regal Eagle”

  1. Reblogged this on Ann Novek–With the Sky as the Ceiling and the Heart Outdoors.

    Like

Leave a Reply

 
