Give Me A Home Where The Buffalo Roam

Yellowstone National Park is an exciting place for visitors and especially for wildlife photographers. One of the most impressive of wildlife (and most dangerous) is the Bison. Many call them Buffalo, but actually they are Bison. There are no buffalo in America. They can be found in Africa as Water Buffalo.

Kings of the Road

Kings of the Road

Photographing these beasts can be a challenge. Driving in Yellowstone during the winter season we found ourselves in a “bison jam”. The bison were traveling down the road heading in our direction and demanding the right-of-way causing all cars to pull over for protection. Leading the parade were 3 bison bulls, looking majestic and beastly. They are 6 feet high at the hump and look like they could ram a bulldozer or even one of our cars ( I have seen this happen). Seeing a photo opportunity and still being at a safe distance, I was able to use a long lens (600mm) to photograph these Kings of the Road, head-on and at eye level.  Then back to the safety of the car as they lumbered past.

“Kings of the Road” on metal is hanging at the Silverthorne Performing Arts Center (Silverthorne, Colorado) in the Silverthorne Winter Photography Show. The show runs through the end of January 2023. Also, it is an opportunity to see the Holiday Follies by the Lake Dillon Theater Company.

Kings of the Road 48x60 - Give Me A Home Where The Buffalo Roam

Kings of the Road 48×60 – Give Me A Home Where The Buffalo Roam

I am fortunate to have delivered “Kings of the Road” to a client as my largest print ever on metal at 48×60 inches. At that size, it is about 1/2 of actual size of the bison.

Prints are available at the Arts Alive Gallery, First and Main Streets, Frisco, Colorado and the Majestic Gallery, 1636 Miner Street, Idaho Springs, Colorado. Prints are also available to order from my website:

https://richardseeleyphotography.smugmug.com/

~ by richardseeley on November 27, 2022.

8 Responses to “Give Me A Home Where The Buffalo Roam”

  1. WOW – Rich, thank you so much! I want your 3 buffalo in my front entrance! Did you ever find the triplet yearling whitetails? Hope you and your family had a warm Thanksgiving! A ⛄️ “Live in such a way That if anyone should speak badly of you No one would believe it!”

    >

    Like

  2. Very nice Rich! Who did you use for printing? I have a request for that size at this moment.

    Like

  3. Absolutely gorgeous.
    Thanks!!!! Corkie Ramey

    Like

  4. Congratulations. Happy Thanksgiving. How is Beth? I assume she is better. Keep in touch. I plan on being out there in June or July. Basil.

    Like

  5. Nice shot of this magnificent threesome! Good timing. Great light.

    Like

  6. Rich I am jealous, I wish I had taken that shot. They will always be called buffalo by me since my dad was born in Buffalo, Oklahoma although my mom was born in Bison Kansas. I have a little Bison and Buffalo in my blood.

    Like

  7. Tres belle photo de ces magnifiques animaux, mais en revanche qui sont tres effrayants

    Like

  8. We are here. Hopefully our new patio will be done and we can entertain on it!!!

    Rich we can make a run up to Silverthorne if you are not in Denver. What else am I going to do with him?

    Basil

    Like

Leave a comment